FANDOM


Galerie-icon.png Cet article a une collection d'images. Pour voir sa galerie, visitez Volume 9 (Neon Genesis Evangelion)/Galerie.
Titre I Fifth Children
"Fifth Children"
(Fifth Children)
Cover - Vol. 9.jpg
Stage 7
Date de publication
Japon 23 Avril 2004
France 12 Novembre 2004
Précédant
Volume 8 (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
Suivant
Volume 10 (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
Fifth Children est le neuvième volume du manga Neon Genesis Evangelion par Yoshiyuki Sadamoto. Il contient 7 chapitres nommés "Stage".

Vue d'ensemble

Kaworu Nagisa est présenté comme un nouveau pilote d'Evangelion mais Shinji Ikari le déteste immédiatement après qu'il est tué un chaton abandonné. Pendant ce temps, Asuka Langley Sohryu a des problèmes de synchronisation avec l'Evangelion Unité-02 après avoir enchaînée les défaites contre les Anges. Sa confiance fragile est ébranlée quand elle doit combattre un Ange seule puisque l'Unité-02 est la seule Evangelion prête au combat. Cependant, l'Ange envahi l'esprit d'Asuka et lui fait se souvenir de son passé et elle s'effondre à cause du traumatisme, laissant Rei Ayanami lancer la Lance de Longinus dans l'espace pour détruire l'Ange. Avec Asuka dans le coma, Kaworu est désigné comme le pilote de l'Unité-02. Peu après, un autre Ange attaque Tokyo-3, mais les efforts de Rei et Kaworu sont insuffisants et l'Evangelion Unité-00 est infectée par l'Ange.

Synopsis

Stage 57: Fifth Children

Asuka Langley Sohryu se souvient du jour où elle a été sélectionné comme pilote d'Evangelion. Elle courait jusqu'à la chambre de sa mère mais elle l'a trouvée en train de tenir une poupée en pensant que c'était Asuka. En regardant le travail qu'elle a accompli avec l'Evangelion Unité-02 contre les Anges, elle se rend compte qu'elle n'en a tué qu'un, et qu'elle a vaincu les deux suivants avec l'aide de Shinji Ikari et Rei Ayanami. Elle a perdu contre les deux derniers Anges et sa confiance commence à baisser, ce qui affecte son taux de synchronisation qui baisse également. Misato Katsuragi dit à Shinji d'aller à l'école, et il se décide finalement à y aller. Shinji flâne en chemin et tombe sur des ruine où se trouve un chaton abandonné. Il entends aussi un piano à l'intérieur des ruines. Il suit le son et trouve un garçon en train de jouer qui lui demande de le conduire à l'école parce qu'il s'est perdu. Le garçon s'interroge aussi sur le chaton que Shinji décide de laisser. Mais l'animal veux continuer à le suivre. C'est alors que le mystérieux garçon saisit le chaton et le tue. Il justifie son acte en disant qu'il allait de toute façon mourir un jour. Shinji ressent la même impression qu'il avait eu avec Rei la première fois qu'il l'avait rencontré, et le garçon se présente comme Kaworu Nagisa, le Fifth Children.

Stage 58: Rejet

Kensuke Aida se pose des questions sur l'absence des pilotes, et si Hikari Horaki sait pourquoi Toji Suzuhara ne vient plus à l'école. Hikari est surprise quand elle voit Shinji à l'entrée de l'école et elle remarque que quelqu'un est avec lui. Shinji remarque Hikari et Kensuke qui l'observent à la fenêtre et s'enfuit, suivi par Kaworu. Ce dernier demande à Shinji de le conduire au Quartier Général de la NERV pour voir son Evangelion, même s'il n'a pas d'unité officiellement assignée. Pendant ce temps, le taux de synchronisation d'Asuka empire au point d'être à la limite de l'activation. Ritsuko Akagi pense changer le Core de l'Unité-02 pour l'adapter au Fifth Children qui arrive bientôt. Shinji cherche Kaworu après l'avoir perdu dans le QG de la NERV. Asuka est fatigué et se rafraîchît aux toilettes. Elle remarque Kaworu dans les toilettes des filles et deviens folle de rage quand il lui parle de son taux de synchronisation en baisse à cause de son cœur qui se ferme. Shinji arrive à ce moment là. Misato remarque que Shinji, Asuka et Kaworu sont dans les toilettes quand Asuka tombe dans les pommes. Misato emmène Asuka en se questionnant sur Kaworu dont la seule information connue à son sujet est sa date de naissance: le jour du Second Impact. Asuka se réveille et demande à Misato de la laisser. C'est alors que l'alarme se déclenche: un autre Ange est apparu. Ce nouvel ennemi apparaît dans l'orbite terrestre sous la forme d'une créature lumineuse possédant plusieurs ailes.

Stage 59: Fierté

Kaworu et Shinji entendent l'alarme, et Shinji a pour ordre de rester en standby. Misato ordonne d'envoyer Rei et Asuka en soutient. Mais Asuka ne veux pas tenir ce rôle et envoie l'Unité-02 seule. Shinji se rend au Centre de Commandent pour demander pourquoi il est le seul pilote à ne pas être envoyé, et Misato lui indique que c'est un ordre de son père. A la surface, Asuka et l'Unité-02 tente de viser l'Ange, mais il ne vient pas et attaque depuis l'orbite avec un rayon lumineux qui commence à pénétrer la psyché de la pilote. Asuka tente de tirer mais elle n'atteint pas sa cible, et l'Ange commence une contamination mentale.

Stage 60: La poupée

L'Ange pénètre dans l'esprit d'Asuka qui supplie d'arrêter. L'Ange lui fait se souvenir de son passé et de sa mère qui lui demande de ne pas perdre contre la fille de son ex-mari. Misato lui ordonne de revenir à la base, mais Asuka refuse et préfère mourir que de battre en retraite. Pendant ce temps, Rei dans l'Unité-00 est prêtes pour un tir avec le Fusil à Positron, et le tir percute l'A.T.Field de l'Ange mais sans atteindre l'ennemie à cause de la perte de puissance du tir avec la distance. Ritsuko comprend que l'Ange examine l'âme humaine. Asuka se souvient des funérailles de sa mère et de sa mère prenant soin d'une poupée en pensant qu'elle était Asuka. Asuka tente de lui parler, mais sa mère l'étrangle. La pilote se souvient juste après du suicide de sa mère et tombe dans l'inconscience. L'Unité-02 s'éteint.

Stage 61: La Lance de Longin

L'Ange est toujours là, et Asuka souffre du choc mental. Shinji insiste au près de Misato pour aller la sauver avec l'Unité-02, mais Kaworu et Gendo lui disent que c'est inutile. Gendo ordonne à Rei d'aller chercher la Lance de Longinus dans le Terminal Dogma, malgré les protestations de Kozo Fuyutsuki et de Misato. L'Unité-00 atteint le Terminal Dogma et retire la Lance du corps de Lilith. Fuyutsuki proteste contre son utilisation, mais Gendo lui répond que c'est une chance alors que la SEELE a commencé la construction des Evangelions Modèles de Production en Série. Rei rejoint la surface dans l'Unité-00 avec la Lance dans les mains, et se prépare à la lancer. La Lance parvient à détruire l'Ange, mais quitte la gravité terrestre pour atteindre la Lune. Shinji va voir Asuka, mais la NERV l'a sauvé trop tard, et elle est dans le coma. Misato vient informer Kaworu qu'il est officiellement assigné à la NERV en tant que pilote de l'Unité-02.

Stage 62: Distance

La SEELE reproche à Gendo d'avoir utiliser la Lance de Longinus qui est maintenant irrécupérable. Gendo excuse son geste en disant que tuer l'Ange est une priorité et que continuer cette discussion est inutile. Il se retire mais pas avant que Keel Lorenz le menace de perdre son siège. Après que Gendo soit parti, la SEELE parle avec Kaworu, qu'elle nomme Tabris, et demande au garçon de les informer sur les intentions de Gendo. Kaworu dit que les humains sont des créatures intéressante, et qu'il ne se fatiguera jamais de les observer. La SEELE lui indique que le Projet est bientôt terminé, et que l'humanité sera libéré de ses problèmes.

Shinji va rendre visite à Asuka dans le coma, et soupire pour ne pas avoir été en mesure de l'aider mais seulement de la regarder. Rei regarde Shinji et s'en va. Peu après, elle rencontre Kaworu pour la première fois. Il lui dit qu'ils sont semblable, mais elle lui répond que non. Les trois pilotes se rendent à un test de synchronisation, et, à la surprise de la NERV, Kaworu possède un taux de sychro très élevé alors que les données n'ont pas été encore réécrite pour lui. Après le test, Shinji part prendre une douche, mais Kaworu vient lui demander du savon. Shinji est dégoûte par les gestes de Kaworu, et lui demande de rester loin de lui avant de quitter la douche. Shinji voit Rei et lui parle alors qu'ils sont de plus en plus distant.

Hyuga révèle des informations à Misato concernant l'Institut Marduk et Kaworu, mais les dossiers sont classifiés. C'est alors qu'un nouvel Ange apparaît.

Stage 63: Représailles

Le nouvel Ange est en vol stationnaire au dessus d'Owakudani. L'Unité-00 et l'Unité-02 sont envoyés contre lui alors que l'Unité-01 est toujours en suspension. Cette fois, Kaworu pilote l'Unité-02. Shinji n'apprécie pas cette situation, même s'il détestait se battre avant, mais ce qui est arrivé la dernière fois à changer sa façon de penser. Misato ordonne à Rei de rester en observation, mais c'est trop tard, l'Ange commence à attaquer en changeant de forme. Les fusils sont inefficaces, et la NERV envoie une tronçonneuse-double à l'Unité-02. Kaworu montre d'incroyable talent en pilotage, supérieur à ceux d'Asuka. Kaworu attaque l'Ange avec la tronçonneuse, mais l'ennemie a chargé Rei et commence à pénétrer l'Unité-00.

Navigation

Manga
Neon Genesis Evangelion Volume 1Volume 2Volume 3Volume 4Volume 5Volume 6Volume 7Volume 8Volume 9 Volume 10Volume 11Volume 12Volume 13Volume 14
The Iron Maiden 2nd Volume 1Volume 2Volume 3Volume 4Volume 5Volume 6
Gakuen Datenroku Volume 1Volume 2Volume 3Volume 4
Plan de Complémentarité Shinji Ikari Volume 1Volume 2Volume 3Volume 4Volume 5Volume 6Volume 7Volume 8Volume 9 Volume 10Volume 11Volume 12Volume 13
Evangelion@School Volume 1Volume 2Volume 3

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Sur le réseau FANDOM

Wiki au hasard

FANDOM


Title I Fifusu chirudoren
The Fifth Child
(フィフス・チルドレン)
Title II Tell me, I pray thee, thy name
Manga Book 09 (Issue 01) Cover
Cover of the ninth edition of the Neon Genesis Evangelion manga.
Manga Volume
Publish Date Apr 03, 2004
Stages 7
Preceded by
Volume 8 (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
Followed by
Volume 10 (Neon Genesis Evangelion)

The Fifth Child is the ninth release of Yoshiyuki Sadamoto's manga for Neon Genesis Evangelion.

OverviewEdit

Kaworu Nagisa is introduced as a new Evangelion pilot, but Shinji immediately hates him after Kaworu kills a stray kitten. Meanwhile, Asuka has problems synching with Unit-02 after suffering continuous defeat against the Angels; her fragile confidence is shaken when she must fight an Angel alone when Unit-02 is the only Evangelion ready for battle. However, the Angel invades Asuka's mind and makes remembers her past until she collapses from trauma, leaving Rei to throw the Spear of Longinus into space to destroy the Angel. With Asuka left comatose, Kaworu is assigned to be the pilot of Unit-02. Soon afterward, another Angel attacks Tokyo-3, but Shinji, Rei, and Kaworu's efforts are fruitless and Unit-00 is infected by the attacking Angel.

SynopsisEdit

Stage 57: The Fifth ChildEdit

Asuka reminiscents the day she was selected to be an Evangelion pilot, and runs to her mother, but found her holding her doll thinking it is Asuka. Asuka counts her work in Unit-02 against the Angels, and that she only defeated one of them, and the next one was with Shinji, and the one after it, all three pilots were sent to defeat it, but the last two have defeated her flawlessly, the thing that made her self-confidence shatters, effecting her sychro ratio and making it drop. Misato tells Shinji to go to school, but he doesn't have the will to go, be decided to go at last. Shinji brakes on his way on some ruins where he found a stray cat, and hears a piano from somewhere inside the ruins. He followed the sound, and found a boy there, who asked him to lead him to the junior high school, because he is lost. The boy asked him why he is holding a cat, and Shinji let go of it, but it still wants to follow him, and then the boy killed the cat, saying that killing it now was kinder that leaving it starve to death. Shinji feels that this boy feels like Ayanami when he first met her, and the boy introduced himself as Kaworu Nagisa, the Fifth Child.

Stage 58: RejectionEdit

Kensuke wonders about the pilots absence, and if Hikari knows why Toji never came to school. Hikari got surprised to see Shinji come to school, and noticed some else with him. Shinji noticed that Hikari and Kensuke are looking at him, and ran off, and Kaworu followed him. Kaworu tells Shinji to lead him to NERV Headquarters see his Eva, and since he hasn't been assigned officialy yet. Meanwhile, Asuka is still getting worse results in the synchronization, so much that she is barely above the startup index. Ritsuko thinks that they may rewrite the Core of Unit-02, since the Fifth Child will arrive soon. Shinji is looking for Kaworu after they arrived at NERV HQ, while Asuka is still tired and says that she doesn't want to have children anymore, when she noticed Kaworu in the women's toilet. Asuka got mad because of his words that she can't synch with her heart closed, and Shinji got there before Asuka could get in some trouble. Misato noticed that Shinji, Asuka and Kaworu are in the toilet, when suddenly Asuka fainted. Misato takes Asuka and tells Shinji to take him, while she is questioning herself about Kaworu, only one thing is known about him: His birthday is the same as the day of Second Impact. Asuka wakes up and demands on Misato to let her go, when the alarm was declared: Another Angel has appeared. The new Angel appeared in the low-earth orbit, as a multi-winged creature made of intense light.

Stage 59: PrideEdit

Kaworu and Shinji heard the emergency declarance, and Shinji is ordered to standby. Misato orders to send Rei to face it and Asuka as her backup, but Asuka got angry being backup for Rei, and launches in Unit-02 alone. Shinji goes to the command center to ask about himself being in standby and the only pilot not fighting, and Misato told about the Commander's orders. At the surface, Asuka in Unit-02 tries to focus on the Angel, but it won't come down, but attacks from above with its light beam which started to penetrate her psyche. Asuka tries to shoot at it but none reached the target, and the Angel starts to mentally contaminate her mind.

Stage 60: A DollEdit

Kyoko in manga

Kyoko strangles Asuka

The Angel continues to penetrate Asuka's mind, as she suffers, begging him to stop, but that was useless, as the Angel made her remember her past, and her mother trying to poison Asuka against her ex-husband's daughter. Misato orders her to return to the base, but Asuka refuses to return, prefering death over retreat. Meanwhile, Rei in Unit-00 is readied to fire with the Positron Rifle, and the shot hit the Angel's A.T. Field, but it wasn't strong enough to neutralize it even at its maximum power, due to the extreme range and power limitation. Ritsuko understood that the Angel is examining the human soul. Asuka reminiscents her mother's funeral and her mother taking care of a doll thinking it is Asuka. Asuka tries to talk with her, but instead got strangled by her, and lastly, remembers her mother's suicide, and falls unconscious, and Unit-02 has shut down.

Stage 61: The Spear Of LonginusEdit

The Angel is still stable at its location, and Asuka is suffering because of her shocking meomries. Shinji insists on Misato to go save her in Unit-01, but both Kaworu and Gendo said it is useless, and then Gendo orders Rei to retrieve the Spear of Longinus from Terminal Dogma, the thing that both Fuyutsuki and Misato complained about using it, although with different reasons. Unit-00 reached Terminal Dogma and removed the Spear from Lilith's torso. Fuyutsuki argues with Gendo about using it, but Gendo replies that this would be their chance since SEELE started constructing the Mass Production Evas. Rei reached the surface in Unit-00 with the Spear in its arms, and prepares to throw it. The Spear succeeded in destroying the Angel, but it escaped Earth's gravity, eventually landing on the moon. Shinji goes to see Asuka, but NERV was too late in saving her, leading her to fall in coma. Misato goes to tell Kaworu that he was officially assigned to NERV, and is going to pilot Unit-02.

Stage 62: DistanceEdit

Kaworu Rei (manga)

Kaworu and Rei's first meeting

SEELE is reproaching Gendo because of using the Spear of Longinus, which is irrecoverable by them now, since the Eva series haven't reached the scheduled number. Gendo replied by the excuse that destroying the Angel took priority, and said that continuing the discussion is of no use, and leaves, but not before Keel Lorenz warns him he may not have seat next time. After Gendo leaves, SEELE talks with Tabris/Kaworu and tell him to inform them about any thing that Gendo does. Kaworu says that humans are such interesting creatures, and he cannot get tired of watching them, although SEELE agrees with that, but they also replied as soon as the Project is completed, the mankind will be freed of this onerous troubles.

Shinji goes to visit the comatose Asuka, and sighs for not being able to help her but only watch. Rei was watching Shinji and then left, and shortly after meets Kaworu for the first time. He tells her they are the same, but she denies that. The three pilots go to the Sychro test, and, to NERV's surprise, Kaworu has got a very high ratio even though the Core wasn't rewritten. After the test, Shinji goes to take a shower, but Kaworu goes to ask Shinji to give him a soap. Shinji got disturbed of Kaworu's actions, and asks him to stay away and then leaves the shower. Shinji sees Rei and talk with her, while wondering if the distance between the two of them will shrink even more than it is.

Hyuga tells Misato about Marduk Institute's on Kaworu, but his files were classified, and while driving, noticed a flying plasmid-like Angel about to attack the city.

Stage 63: Returning FireEdit

The new Angel has fixed over Owakudani, and Units 00 and 02 were sent against it, while Unit-01 is still under the freeze status in the Cage. This time, Kaworu is piloting Unit-02. Shinji sighs for his situation, though he hated fighting before, but what happened last fight changed his mind. Misato orders Rei to observe its status, but it was too late, since the Angel began attacking with changing its shape to thread-like and charges at the Evas. The rifles haven't done any damage, and NERV sent the dual saw to Unit-02. Kaworu has shown very amazing piloting skills, which lead Ritsuko to say "Asuka was also good... but he is even better." Kaworu attacked the Angel with the saw, but the other side of the Angel charged at Rei, surprising her, and the Angel's thread end splitted into multiple ends, and penetrated Unit-00 and the dual saw of Unit-02.

NotesEdit

  • The child Asuka runs happily to her mother after being chosen to pilot the Evangelion to see her with a doll, not hanged to the ceiling, like in episode 24
  • Shinji met Kaworu at some ruins in Tokyo-3, before it was vaporized by Unit-00's self-destruction.
  • Shinji led Kaworu to school and then to NERV HQ after he flees from school.
  • Kaworu's odd demeanor was something that made Shinji hate him, beginning with the killed kitten.
  • Kyoko's face is more clear in the manga, as when she strangled Asuka.
  • Kaworu pilots Unit-02 instead of Asuka because of her coma status.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.